1950’s Rockabilly Vintage Wedding…the story of a bride to be’s planning so far…Part 1!

Hello all,

How are you on this Sunday?

After a lovely pamper evening on my own (and little bump!), I feel rather refreshed so thought I would do a little Sunday Delight today as not done for a couple of weeks…oops…:)

So today, I have the gorgeous Emma who I have met through Twitter…she has so kindly decided to share her wedding plans so far of her 1950’s Rockabilly Vintage wedding….

Here is her plans in her own words…Enjoy! 🙂

Story of my wedding planning so far!

On christmas day morning I became a very lucky lady. My best friend and partner got down on one knee, (in his dressing gown!) and asked me to be his wife. To say I was smiling lots on Xmas day is an understatement. 

I was so super excited and because I had some time off over Christmas, I was able to start planning straight away! We set a date on boxing day and I set about making wedding plans.

Now our wedding is on the 12th May 2012. Whenever I speak to anyone they tell me that we’ve got everything sorted so quickly! I don’t think we have! Our venues are booked and I have my dress (will explain more in a bit!) but thats it!

We’re on quite a tight budget, so our aim is to do a lot of it ourselves. It’s going to be a DIY wedding!

When we first started planning, the one thing I knew for certain, was that I wanted a 1950’s/rockabilly twist to the wedding. I love everything vintage, 50’s, pin-up and rockabilly and I’m lucky enough, that although James doesn’t embrace the fashion as I try to, his happy to have that as a theme at our wedding.

I must admit, when I first started searching the internet for Rockabilly weddings I was overcome by how many weddings blogs there are and the amount of amazing weddings out there that have that twist I was looking for. Now as the months have passed I have to confess that yes, I still aim to have a 50’s/rockabilly wedding but my love for the 1920’s and anything vintage ( and when I say vintage I mean older than 50’s, I understand vintage can mean different things to different people!) has greatly grown and I now want to try and mix it up a bit!

We’ve been watching Broadwalk Empire and I’m so in love with the costumes. I’ve been making notes! 🙂

So down to the dress! I went wedding dress shopping quite soon after getting engaged to be honest. Mainly through pure excitement and I wanted to see what these 50’s swing dresses looked like on! So we took a trip down to Vivien of Holloway. I had seen a dress online that I very much liked the look of and thought that was the one for me. When I tried the dress on, it looked lovely, just how I imagined. However, it didn’t blow me away. I didn’t stand there thinking “OMG, I’ve got to buy this dress, now.”

This was the dress that I thought I originally wanted:

And these were the bridesmaid dresses, I thought I would originally go for:

I left the shop feeling a little deflated to be honest. I had convinced myself that this was the dress I wanted so why wasn’t I blown away by it!?

Me and one of my bridesmaid caught the tube to Camden and spent hours trawling round the vintage shops. I tried a few dresses and they felt more right than the swing dress but still nothing that was blowing me away. However, it did convince me that I wanted to try and find something original if I could. Just as we said we were ready to call it a day, we saw one more vintage shop. I picked up a dress which initially my bridesmaid really wasn’t too impressed with.

Its a 1950’s, handmade, lace wedding dress with a tiny little puddle train. It fitted perfectly. I honestly can’t put into words how well this dress fits me! When I walked out of the changing room and my bridesmaid saw me for the first time, we were both pretty speechless. It was decided there and then that there was no way we could leave the shop without buying this dress! So thats the story of my dress. What makes it even more special is that it only cost £40! There is nothing that needs doing to this dress and I mean nothing. It doesn’t need taking in, it doesn’t need anything adding to it. Its perfect, just the way it is. My dress is a secret though so you will have to wait to the day to see it!

These are the bridesmaid dresses that we have gone for which are from Dolly Dagger and they are going to be in red and white…

Love Vintage Tea ~ These are oh so cute…

Come back next Sunday for Part 2 of Emma’s wonderful plans for her 1950’s Rockabilly Wedding…. 🙂

Lots of Love Vintage Tea Love xoxo

This entry was posted in Sunday Delights and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 1950’s Rockabilly Vintage Wedding…the story of a bride to be’s planning so far…Part 1!

  1. Ah thanks hunny! You’ve done an amazing job putting that all together!
    Love to you and bump! Xxx

  2. Aw, glad you like it! 🙂 Thanks so much for letting me share your wedding plans with my readers!!! I have loved reading all about it and cant wait to see the actual wedding pics! 🙂 x

  3. loulabellewb says:

    Bargain-licious! Love the sound of this wedding… can’t wait to read more :o)

  4. Ooooh can’t wait to see piccies!! Looking forward to the next instalments! xx

  5. christine says:

    first off congrats! im also planning a 50’s wedding! i’ve been planning for almost 2 years not and im only 6 weeks away finally! its funny cause i have my first dress bought from vivien of halloway, it was the one with the green stars.. i too was so convinced i wanted it and i wasnt blown away afterwards i ended up buying a second dress. my girls are wearing pretty much the same dress as you got in the pic (black and white polka dots)… im not gonna write every detail of the reception plans cause i would eventually run out of place but, the biggest part i would have to say is the candy bar. i bought lots of different kinds and i will have cello bags with our name on it and people will be able to scoop what they want to take home as a favor. also fun for the kids. and also will have a root beer float station’ for after dinner. anyways hope you have lots of fun planning as i enjoyed it very much!!! i just want the day to come already!!!! good luck!

Leave a Reply

